The New Dylans

The New Dylans

Nashville TN/Warren PA

Genres:  AlternativeIndieRock

Formed in 1986 in Warren, Pennsylvania, The New Dylans (James Reilley and Reese Campbell) recorded their eponymous debut EP in 1986 with the help of John Lombardo and Jerry Augustyniak of 10,000 Maniacs. Pressing up 1,000 vinyl copies, the duo sent the EP to names on a borrowed 10,000 Maniacs press list. Robert Christgau of The Village Voice ranked the EP among the top 5 EPs of 1987 in the prestigious Village Voice Pazz and Jop Poll of that year. R.E.M.'s Micahel Stipe chose The New Dylans as one of his favorite bands of 1987, and the band was also featured on BBC Radio One and MTV shows 120 Minutes and The Cutting Edge. The New Dylans played a handful of live shows in 1987 before breaking up at the end of that year. Reforming in 1992, James and Reese recorded demos of new material (Fester) before signing a record deal with Minneapolis based Red House Records in 1993. The New Dylans released two critically acclaimed albums on Red House (Warren Piece 1993) and (The American Way 1995). Demos for a possible third album were recorded in 1996 (Joe 6 Track), but the band never completed the actual album. The New Dylans earned rave reviews in Rolling Stone, Spin, Stereo Review, Audio, Pulse, CMJ New Music Report, Goldmine, Cd Review, Request, Sing Out, Dirty Linen and Leak magazines, and received generous radio airplay on the then burgeoning AAA/Americana radio format. The New Dylans were also featured on NPR's All Things Considered with Noah Adams, World Cafe, Acoustic Cafe, Vin Scelsa's Idiot's Delight and several guest spots on ex-Partridge Danny Bonaduce's Chicago Radio show on WLUP. Touring extensively throughout the 1990's, The New Dylans shared stages with The Band, Townes Van Zandt, Shawn Colvin, Richie Havens, The Fleshtones, Syd Straw, The Silos, Steve Forbert and 10,000 Maniacs. After breaking up the band in 1998, Reilley moved to Nashville and signed a songwriting deal Curb Publishing. Reilley's songs have been recorded by many artists most notably Tim O'Brien, Sam Bush, Hal Ketchum, Vince Gill, and Jack Ingram. Reilley's music has also been featured in several movie soundtracks. Reilley released his first solo album "The Return of Buddy Cruel" in 2003. The album spent 3 months in the top 20 on the Americana Album Chart. The Return Of Buddy Cruel also garnered significant airplay on Acoustic Café, BBC Radio 1,BBC Scotland, Radio Golden Flash in Belgium, Real Roots Cafe Network in Central Europe, and BRTO's Crossroads in Bergen, the Netherlands whose host Jos Van Den Boom placed the album in his top 10 of 2003. Performing Songwriter and Paste magazines also ran feature articles on the album and The Tennessean called "The Return of Buddy Cruel" one of the top 10 albums of 2003 and the track "Won't Let You Make Fool Of Me" one of the top 10 songs of2003 in their year-end critics poll. Reilley recorded a second solo album with KenCoomer (Wilco), Al Perkins (Gram Parsons), Audley Freed (The Black Crowes),Jen Gunderman (The Jayhawks) and Tom Petersson (Cheap Trick). Reilley's song "The Man Who Had Everything" was named to BBC Scotland tastemaker Karen Miller's "Best Of The Decade" list. After The New Dylans split, Reese Campbell formed The Billups (alternately known as The Hopheads) with 10,000 Maniac alum John Lombardo and Scott Miller. In 2007 Campbell formed a new band called "The American People" featuring Dan Warmbrodt, John McGuire and Paul Liuzzo. In January 2014, The New Dylans (now including Ken Coomer and Chris Autry) began working on a new album of all original material, their first in 18 years. The new album entitled “Meta” will be released in US on April 7th 2015 and in Europe in summer 2015. Nashville’s newspaper, The Tennessean, has documented the entire process of writing and recording of “Meta” ( and will be releasing the documentary in conjunction with PBS/WNPT in spring 2015.

Let The New Dylans Write You a Song!

We're sorry but The is not presently taking requests.